Germantown Water Tower

Germantown Lions Club “Richard F. Benson”
Citizen of the Year Award

Since 1917 Lions have been demonstrating the truthfulness of their motto:  “We Serve.”  Since 1980, the Germantown Lions Club has been recognizing outstanding individuals who serve our community with the Citizen of the Year Award.

The award is named in honor of Richard “Dick” Benson. Dick passed away on January 3, 2013. He and his wife, Katharyn (Kay) were married for 53 years. Dick served in the United States Navy from 1956 until 1960. Mr. Benson was a member of Germantown United Methodist Church for 36 years, a member of Lamplighters Sunday School Class, Wednesday Morning Prayer Group, and an official in the church in many capacities.

He was also International Director for Toastmasters from 1993-1995, member and District Governor 12L Lions Club in Germantown, and also sold pecans for Lions Club. He was on the Germantown Community Theater Board of Directors and an actor in numerous plays. He was an auctioneer for Germantown High School Television Auction, helped organize the Germantown Family Fourth of July celebration, and the fishing rodeo with the Lions Club, owned Career Associates for 10 years, was plant manager for Pepsi Cola and was a community representative for Life Blood for 17 years. Dick was a 19-gallon blood donor.

Citizen of the Year recipients include:

1980 Millen Darnel

2001 Jim O’Brien
1981 Harry Cloyes 2002 Harvey Faust
1982 Frank Bluestein 2003 Odell Baker
1983 Hugh Ford 2004 David Pickler
1984 Eleanor Woodward 2005 Bobby Lanier
1985 Earnest Chism 2006 Gail Ridenhour
1986 Hugh Frank Smith 2007 Margaret Weinberg
1987 Bess Barry 2008 Doug Warner
1988 Frances Sparkman 2009 Ron Roberson
1989 W.A. “Dub” Nance 2010 Barbara Hamilton
1990 Hazel Goodale 2011 Steve Wilensky
1991 Ken Story 2012 Pat Scroggs
1992 Bea Carps 2013 Andrew Pouncey
1993 Annie Laurie Hall 2014 Sharon Goldsworthy
1994 Charles Salvaggio 2015 Lillie Kay Mitchell
1995 Edwin Hubbard 2016 Rebekah Bruce
1996 George Walters 2017 Margaret Owens
1997 Molly Meisenheimer 2018 Elaine Cates
1998 Andy Trautman 2019 Johanna Young
1999 Cash Shields 2020 Brandy Miller
2000 Tracy Speake 2021 Fred Miller

The Edwin Dalstrom Distinguished Service Award

The Edwin Dalstrom Distinguished Service Award